Insights from a Supply Chain Leader

August 30, 2012 at 6:49 pm 27 comments

The Journal of Healthcare Contracting recently posted this article, “Excellent Insights from Supply Chain Leader, Brent Johnson.”  While the whole interview is good, I want to re-post his list of five things supply chain execs should do to expand their contributions.

  1. Learn how to manage your GPO
  2. Work on more than med-surg products
  3. Do more than just product management
  4. Work on more than price
  5. Always think out of the box

One theme underpins all of these points — think bigger.  Think bigger about your hospital’s operations.  Think bigger about your hospital’s costs.  Think bigger about where the skills of supply chain professionals — evaluating true cost, defining and managing relationships, measuring outcomes — add value in your hospital.

From our perspective, we’ll add:  Think bigger about the information in your Vendormate vendor programs.

How does that list of registered (and unregistered) vendors relate to your spend and risk?  Where else can you apply that information to make better decisions?

We’ve already seen innovative hospitals use the data in new ways.  As a starting point to identify redundant supplier relationships. As a gateway to accurate and verified information for their AP system.  As fertile ground to source new, credentialed suppliers.

Just as we’re leveraging that data in Vendormate Contract Manager to make a smarter contract management process, we’re looking for other out of the box applications. We’ve got our own list of ideas.  Write your ideas in the comments section below.

Entry filed under: contract management, vendor credentials, vendor management. Tags: , .

4 Hospital Contract Management Essentials Using Attestations for Criminal Background Checks

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. news feed  |  February 7, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks a lot

    Reply
  • 2. green smoke Review  |  April 1, 2013 at 2:09 am

    One of my friend asked me to try Bull Smoke e cigs, and ever since, I’m glued with it. I love the different varieties in flavors provided, and also, the particular of not depending on normal cigs whenever you like to decrease your concerns.

    Reply
  • 3. eagle asset management  |  July 21, 2013 at 12:23 am

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.
    I am attempting to find things to enhance my site!
    I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    Reply
  • 4. american depository receipts  |  July 21, 2013 at 4:18 am

    Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good
    success. If you know of any please share. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 5. business finance  |  July 26, 2013 at 1:28 am

    Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

    Reply
  • 6. trade show cards  |  July 28, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my website thus
    i got here to return the want?.I’m attempting to to find things to improve my site!I guess its adequate to use a few of your ideas!!

    Reply
  • 7. roll labels  |  July 30, 2013 at 6:26 am

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your blog. It appears as if some of the written text within your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This might be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Thanks

    Reply
  • 8. money skills  |  August 1, 2013 at 11:40 am

    You really make it seem so easy along with your presentation however I to find this topic
    to be really something that I believe I would never understand.
    It sort of feels too complicated and extremely extensive for
    me. I’m taking a look ahead to your next post, I’ll attempt to get the
    dangle of it!

    Reply
  • 9. senior citizen healthcare  |  August 2, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before but after looking at many of the posts I realized it’s new to
    me. Regardless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    it and checking back regularly!

    Reply
  • 10. dogs require  |  August 9, 2013 at 4:24 am

    What i do not realize is in fact how you’re not really much more neatly-preferred than you might be right now. You are so intelligent. You recognize thus significantly when it comes to this subject, produced me individually believe it from numerous various angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be interested except it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs outstanding. All the time deal with it up!

    Reply
  • 11. email list  |  August 22, 2013 at 8:41 am

    Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specifically the final phase 🙂 I take care of such info much. I used to be looking for this particular info for a very long time. Thanks and best of luck.

    Reply
  • 12. thermal imaging application  |  August 29, 2013 at 12:40 am

    What’s up mates, how is all, and what you want to say concerning this article, in
    my view its truly remarkable in support of me.

    Reply
  • 13. chimney caps  |  September 4, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    I seldom leave a response, however i did some searching and wound up
    here Insights from a Supply Chain Leader | Vendor Compliance.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or does it appear like some of these
    responses come across as if they are coming from brain dead
    individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional
    sites, I would like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post.
    Would you list of all of all your public sites
    like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    Reply
  • 14. reasons for diabetes  |  September 18, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks for sharing such a pleasant thought,
    article is pleasant, thats why i have read it entirely

    Reply
  • 15. tell quibids  |  October 9, 2013 at 7:51 am

    Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon
    everyday. It’s always exciting to read through content from other authors
    and use something from other web sites.

    Reply
  • 16. Locksmith in Midlothian  |  October 11, 2013 at 3:34 am

    We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our
    community. Your website provided us with helpful info to work on.
    You have performed a formidable activity and our entire group will be thankful to you.

    Reply
  • 17. stretching exercise  |  October 17, 2013 at 3:03 am

    Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look
    of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!

    Reply
  • 18. air freight services  |  October 18, 2013 at 1:27 am

    Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog
    and wished to say that I have really loved browsing your weblog
    posts. In any case I will be subscribing on your feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

    Reply
  • 19. Sony HDTV Reviews  |  December 14, 2013 at 8:32 am

    Hi there mates, its impressive article on the topic of tutoringand completely defined,
    keep it up all the time.

    Reply
  • 20. Everett  |  January 10, 2014 at 10:56 am

    Hello i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i
    read this post i thought i could also make comment due to this sensible piece of writing.

    Reply
  • 21. Agustin  |  January 24, 2014 at 3:18 am

    My brother suggested I might like this website.
    He was once totally right. This put up actually made my day.
    You cann’t consider simply how much time I
    had spent for this info! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 22. Patty  |  February 2, 2014 at 5:30 am

    Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my site so i came to return the want?.I am attempting to find things to improve my website!I suppose its good enough
    to use some of your ideas!!

    Reply
  • 23. Tilly  |  February 2, 2014 at 2:59 pm

    I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article
    like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally,
    if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you
    did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Reply
  • 24. LG HDTV Reviews  |  March 6, 2014 at 12:37 am

    Wonderful post! We will be linking to this particularly great
    post on our website. Keep up the good writing.

    Reply
  • 25. Hermelinda  |  March 8, 2014 at 2:04 am

    Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone!

    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to
    all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

    Reply
  • 26. new York presbyterian hospital  |  March 23, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    Remarkable! Its truly awesome piece of writing, I have got much clear idea
    on the topic of from this article.

    Reply
  • 27. touchless trash Can reviews  |  April 16, 2014 at 11:53 am

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
    checking back frequently!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Upcoming Events

Sign up for Vendormate News


2013 Vendor Credentialing Summit
August 14 - 15, 2013

AHRMM
July 28-31, 2013
San Diego, CA
Booth 1121

Recent Posts

Archived Posts

Vendormate on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.